The Unseen Enemy 

I have depression. 

How many of us would freely admit that? My guess is it would be very many people. Whether it’s family or friends or because of your job, so many people make excuses for why they won’t get help when they absolutely need it. I’m here to tell you it’s been the greatest thing I have ever done for ME! 

 You are the most important person in your life. It’s not your kids or your significant other. It’s YOU. I still have a hard time accepting that concept but it’s true. Without you, you can’t be there for your kids or your significant other (or whoever you think is the most important person in your life). 

I’ve struggled with depression my entire life. Not feeling good enough for anyone I come in contact with. Not feeling good enough for the job I do or my children. The fact that I’m wrong is a hard pill to swallow. I feel like I’m never wrong but I’m wrong about how I view myself. 

I see a counselor. I’m not afraid to say it. I’ve learned a lot about myself and have become a better person for it. I’m a work-in-progress still though. We’re getting to those “tough” areas where its going to take a lot of time and an incredible amount of work to get through. But I AM working towards being even better. 

A few things I can admit (that I couldn’t a year and a half ago): I’m a good father. I’m a good person. I love more than most people can love. I have anxiety. I am depressed. I have ZERO patience. I am flawed but God loves me. I am here for a purpose, even if I don’t know what that purpose is. 

My point is, seeking help is not a bad thing. In fact, it is the best thing you can do for yourself if you need it. The stigma of mental health needs to STOP! We need to understand that people need help sometimes and we need to accomodate those people. The signs might not always be clear but they’re there. You just have to look deeper into every person and genuinely care about that person to see the signs. It could save a life. 

I’m huge into the VFW and my concern has always been Veterans. But it’s not just them. It’s not just those in the crazy house. More than likely, someone very close to you is suffering in ways you have no idea about. And that’s ok. They just need you to understand that they have issues. They need help. And you might need to be the person that they need to push them in the right direction. 

If you or someone you know needs help, please contact me directly or the suicide hotline at 800-273-8255. 

Leave a Reply

