Today is the day.

After an exhausting weekend, I am due to put in my resignation today.  I hate doing things like this.  I am so incredibly nervous and it is driving me crazy…. causing more nervousness.

I like where I’m at.  I get treated like shit, but I like it here.  I know my job like the back of my hand.  I built the network for crying out loud!  It is comfortable and I’m still learning a lot.

Where the new job is, I will learn so much more.  It is a bigger company with a much more complex network than what I have here.  It’s still a contract job, but it “should” be a great opportunity.

I still hate having to give my notice.  I am angry that the people here just don’t seem to want me.  Not everyone, just the people that matter it seems.

While in the middle of writing this, I talked to the other IT guy and he took it well.  I think he knew it was coming.  I don’t think this should come as a shock really to anyone.  They all know I’m not happy in the situation that I’m in.  Maybe they think I wouldn’t call their bluff and they could keep going on thinking they could get away with treating me like some temp workhorse.  And I don’t even mind the workhorse part!  I actually prefer it, but I need to give back.

My stress level is through the roof right now and half of this probably doesn’t make any sense.  What I’d really like to do is go back to bed and just sleep until things get better.  Unfortunately, that’s a dream that can never come true.

I’ll let you all know how things turn out.

******UPDATE******

So I finally talked to the owner and HR.  I got pretty much what I expected: a “Thanks for coming and good luck to you” response.  I can’t say that I’m surprised at all.  The IT manager was all pissed off that they didn’t make a counter-offer.  I told him that I would’ve been shocked if they did.

I honestly didn’t know what to expect from the meeting.  Again, I’m not surprised at their response/reaction.  I guess it’s all for the best and is what was meant to be.

Moving On (Professionally)

10 thoughts on “Moving On (Professionally)

  1. Michelle says:

    Good luck, Rocco..You’re gonna kick ass in your new job.

    Everyone wants to feel appreciated..that being said..you have no control over how other people treat you. It sucks.

    Looking forward to hearing about the new job!

    • Thanks Michelle! I know I have no control over it. I think everyone’s got complacient and they think they can save a few bucks (which is literally all it is, a FEW bucks!) on days I take off or holidays they don’t have to pay me for. It’s all bullshit but I’m hoping this new place is better.

  2. amediablogger says:

    Good luck. Wishing you the very best in your new job.

  3. disconcerted72 says:

    You know, I’m a firm believer that you are the master of your own happiness and that the outside world happens to be details in that happiness. Change is never easy, but making a decisions is always the hardest part, because once the decision is made it became the right one because you will want it to work out!

    So, congratulations on the good decision you made! 🙂

  4. whatthemicah says:

    Bro, You know how I feel about this choice already so I’m not going to bother writing it again. Know this though- the amount of respect and appreciation they have for you is/was so incredibly lacking. You work far too hard to be taken advantage of. A counter offer would’ve been “nice” but instead they made it nice and easy for you to walk away knowing that you’ve made the right choice. We need to have a celebratory drink!

Leave a Reply

