In The Darkness

In the darkness that consumes me a little light appears.

I’m not sure where the light is coming from

I haven’t seen it in years.

I’m lost, but found

If only for a moment.

The light is so bright

There must be an end in sight.

The universe is swirling

Like in the eye of a storm.

The sea has rough waters.

From the very day we are born.

“In the eye of the beholder” is a saying they say

Until they see the other side

And they will have to pay.

But the light is getting stronger

I just can’t see it yet.

One day it’ll shine bright

And my soul will be out of debt.

8 thoughts on “In The Darkness

  1. Michelle says:

    Wow. Rocco…that was wonderful. Very poignant.

  2. whatthemicah says:

    Just read this…AGAIN…and it just gets better and better. Keep writing your poetry, brother, It’s definitely a gift.

  3. Cassie says:

    The story that this poem tells is beautiful, and I hope in my future.

Leave a Reply

