Who Are You?

To follow up on my last post, I have had a revelation.  In hindsight, it really is a quite simple revelation to be honest and I am not sure why it has taken this long to come to realize it.

For the better part of the last year, I have been trying to figure out how I can be more of the “real me”.  While this is a lot harder to accomplish than I had thought, the answer is equally as difficult.  Although (I’ve been told) I appear to be “real”, I think we’ve established that I am not.

To be the real you, you need to know who you REALLY are!  How much simpler of an answer is there?!?

The fact is, there isn’t a simpler answer.  However, knowing who you really are is a lot harder question to answer.  You have to be truthful to yourself about yourself that you don’t want to know about yourself.

Sounds confusing?  Well it’s not.  It’s just hard to admit to yourself things you’ve done, feelings you have, and secrets we keep from ourselves.  When something bad happens to us, we suppress the memory.  Well not all suppressed memories are necessarily “bad”.  They are just things that we may be embarrassed about, regrets, or do not conform with societal norms.

The simple fact is, in order to BE ourselves, we have to KNOW ourselves; and the only way to know ourselves is to be HONEST with the only person that matters: YOU!

2 thoughts on “Who Are You?

  1. ragemichelle says:

    This is not an easy thing to do…but I truly think that good things start to happen when we stop lying to ourselves…

Leave a Reply

