I Shoulda Grown Up in the 50s

Goodfellas (1990) Poster

I always hear people say, “I’m an 80s (gender) at heart.” or “I should’ve been born 10 years earlier.”

Well, I’m gonna give you 2 reasons why I wish I would’ve grown up/lived in the 50s.

“As far back as I can remember, I always wanted to be a gangster.” – Henry Hill (Played by Ray Liotta in Goodfellas)

That line is 100% true for me as well.  The problem is, it’ll never happen.  It is a dream that I cannot make come true (thanks for lying to me MOM!) (just kidding.  I love you mom!)

When someone asks me what my dream job is/was/would be, most people are surprised that I don’t say “Professional Football player”.  It sometimes shocks me too, but at the end of the day, all I would want to do would be a gangster.  And I’m not talking about some rap “gangster” peddling drugs on the street.  I’m talking about mobbed up, do what the fuck I want, when I want, and have all the glory that is portrayed in The Godfather, Goodfellas, and The Sopranos.

The crime doesn’t bother me really and having to look over my shoulder every 5 min?  I kinda do that most of the time anyways because I’m like a paranoid schizophrenic sometimes.  I want the cheat codes to life just like they had.  The power and money.  All of it.

Now that I’m done talking about the greed that comes along with being in the mafia, I’ll explain the reason for this post.

I feel like I’m old school.  If you get into an argument with someone, you fight it out…. literally.  The world today is too soft and it really bothers me.  Why can’t we slug it out, settle our differences and have a beer?  Why do we have to run to the boss and cry “he hurt my feelings!!!  Make him do it my way or I’m gonna cry some more.”  Then the boss gives in because he doesn’t want to ruffle feathers and then the job either gets fucked up more or harder for everyone to do.

It is taking every ounce of energy that I have to NOT find a wrench to throw and certain people today.

Only a few more hours until I get to go on my unpaid holiday…. wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “I Shoulda Grown Up in the 50s

  1. ragemichelle says:

    I feel you. There are days that I just want to beat a person with a hammer. But then I remember that I’m all talk and I’d get my ass kicked.

    • Hahaha! You seem more of a scrapper than you think you are. I have gotten into my fair share of fights though but now I have a family and “responsabilities” and other dumb shit like that that keep my head somewhat level. It was a rough day yesterday though

Leave a Reply

