Back to the Future?

image

I am making really good friends with this guy at work.  It’s comforting especially since I’ve only been at this place a few months.  He sits right next to me (we kind of share a cubicle I guess) and we get to talk about a lot of things.

Yesterday, he pointed out something to me on his computer.  I don’t even remember what it was. It was a picture of some sort and I said, “That’s sick!” meaning it was “very cool.”

Now I’m 26 years old.  I don’t consider myself old by any stretch of the imagination.  He just turned 49 in September and (to say the least) is very displeased that is as old as my father.  He’s always pointing out “old songs” (i.e. “Master of the Puppets” – Matalica or Jusas Priest’s “Victim of Changes”), who sings them, their title, that sort of thing.  I guess he doesn’t think I have any sense of culture and that I have no idea of classic, good tunes.  Then when I say that I know the song, he says that he saw that particular band in concert when they were just starting out.  When I mention that I WISH I could have seen said band before they broke up/half of them died, it makes him feel even worse.

Anyways, when I mentioned that the picture as “sick” he said, “No it’s not! That’s really cool!”  I asked him if he was Doc Brown and he instently felt old yet again.  For the rest of the day I kept saying things were “heavy”.  I don’t think he appreciated it all that much…

So that last night at dinner, I am telling this story to my wife.  She’s cracking up because she knows exactly where this is going.  After I give the “heavy” punchline to her, my 10 year old daughter says, “I don’t get it…”  I explain to her that it is a line from the movie Back to the Future.  She looked at me like I had 3 eyes.

Now I know what my co-worker feels like when he thinks he is old.

2 thoughts on “Back to the Future?

  1. Ragemichelle says:

    HAHAAH…I’m so glad your daughter made you feel old. (You’re the same age as my son…had no idea..I thought you were older).

    I’m only SLIGHTLY older than your co-worker, but I would have known the context in which you used ‘sick’..but not all old people can be as cool as I am.

    Heavy.

    • Haha! Yeah… I’m a young gun haha. He is usually good with my “slang” (which I didn’t think that was really too much of a “slang” term anymore) but for some reason this time he took it the wrong way. It was not so heavy.

Leave a Reply

